Denturist Association of Manitoba

Our History

Past Presidents

Robert Kelly 1971-1973
Darcy Pagan 1974-1976
Tom Milburn 1977-1979
Leon Parent 1980-1982
Alex Spinak 1983-1989
Jiri Trojan 1990-1994
David Hicks 1995-2002
Paul Hrynchuk2003-2014
Jamshid Zehtab-Jadid 2015-2020
 Manny Minuk 2021- Present

1946 - 1961

  • Tim Sumida started the movement by knocking on doors
  • 1st clinic opened in Province by Benny Brotman
  • Oral Tru opened by Tim Sumida
  • Shortage of Dentists during WWII led to Dental Technicians performing relines and repairs on the side, they eventually figured out that they were capable of making complete dentures
  • The Dental Technicians challenged the Dental Act.
  • MDA was closing clinics and Denturists were fined for illegal practice of dentistry


  • public hearings were held and law amendments were made
  • Ed Shreyer was running for Premier of Manitoba and during a call in show was asked if he was going to legislate the denturists, he said yes
  • Ed Shreyer became Premier in 1969
  • Mary Andree was a public citizen who lobbied for legislation, she was well liked and people listened to her and joined the cause


  • Denturist Act received Royal Assent
  • The Denturist Board consisted of 2 dentists, 2 denturists and 1 lay member
  • 1st Chairman of the board was Dr. Proctor
  • Dentists were no longer required to sit on the board
  • Roger Mandziuk is the first graduate of NAIT from Manitoba


  • Denturist Act amended resulting in self-regulation


The Denturist Association of Manitoba is a member of the Denturist Association of Canada, and the International Federation of Denturists. Our mission is to move the profession of Denturism forward through education, member support and by promoting the profession to the public.

Denturist Association of Manitoba
P.O. Box 69012
RPO Tuxedo Park
Winnipeg, Manitoba R3P 2G9
Phone: (204) 897-1087
Fax: (204) 488-2872